A passionate heart.

surround yourselfWhere’s your passionate heart?

Has it been crushed by past abusers and oppressors? Or turned to stone by previous disappointments and betrayals?

Perhaps you have vowed not to commit yourself to anyone or anything for fear of failure and rejection? Then it’s time to reclaim your passion for life.

Passion comes from the heart. But for most of my life, my heart seemed to do little apart from keep me alive. Whilst friends and colleagues appeared to be thriving in every way, I functioned from day to day cocooned in depression and alcoholism, in self-doubt and fear.

“There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living. ~ Nelson Mandela

My journey to recovering started with a reality check. My heart, mind and soul had been numbed to the extreme leaving me emotionally void. I was physically alive but mentally dead. The truth was that I was existing but not living. And I was tolerating myself and others but not loving.

When I reclaimed my heart, I reclaimed my life. I chose to swap the pain for the passion and use the energy to reconnect with myself and those around me. As I pursued my recovery with eagerness and intent, I learnt to refute those negative beliefs I had internalised since childhood.

My self-image of a woman who was worthless, useless, ugly, stupid, hated, rejected began to fade as I opened up my heart. Despite my vulnerability I allowed love and laughter to enter my world again. And I began to be able to define myself differently – valued, positive, beautiful, intelligent, loved and wanted.

“Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.” ~ Rumiballoon-tree_826017

Today my passionate heart reveals itself through my devotion to my faith, family and friends. It sustains me through the bad times and fills me with joy through the good times.

No longer do I simply exist or tolerate.                                                                                     I live and I love.                                                                                                                   With a passion.

Top image thanks to Freaky Peas http://www.etsy.com/listing/119986407/heart-original-mixed-media-painting

47 thoughts on “A passionate heart.

  1. Just no words to say my dear friend but one thing
    I am extremely grateful to god to have found a friend like you

    Love

    Ajay

  2. Yay Carolyn, You really are an inspiration! I too had a hard time living and I still struggle to stay open and positive – thanks for this reminder to do so and find passion!

  3. Excellent post Carolyn – I love the way you capture the essence of your experiences and show up coming through the other side with a passion and a connection to life! You are a wonderful inspiration. ♥

  4. I’m glad to hear that’s happened for you, Carolyn. I feel like I’ve been on a similar journey — to give up the need to be a different person, and the disappointment that arises from thinking I’m “not who I should be,” and instead accepting the person I am and always will be.

  5. Hi Carolyn,

    This is one of the most empowering posts I have read in this new year. Loved it so much that I re-read it appreciating every word and its nuance.

    Indeed it is our thoughts stemming from our perceptual insecurities that create the beliefs that stonewall us from following our passion. But as we choose to confront these underlying beliefs, we start allowing the sunshine of possibilities into our souls. This really becomes the seed of our passion, as the fears and darkness fade away.

    God bless

    Shakti

  6. YES!!!! tolerating isn’t living… in fact through my experience it has only created enabling situations with lovers friends experiences that have kept the heart of truth from really shining out!!

  7. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am that you discovered your inner beauty, your strengths, and your passion for sharing and inspiring others, you really do make a difference Carolyn! THANK YOU 🙂 x

    My Favorite quote is – “There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living. ~ Nelson Mandela

  8. Pingback: A passionate heart. « Gentle Healing

What do you think? I'd love you to share!